Contact Us

Our goal is to provide you outstanding customer service!!  Possibly you may find available information within these pages or you may need to contact us directly for additional information.  You will find our Benefits Team is friendly and ready to help.

Find Us or Call Us

Office Address & Location:
Frederick County Public Schools
HR/Benefits Office
191 South East Street
Frederick, MD 21701

Benefit contact information
301-644-5080 ( Main phone)
301-644-5122 (fax)

Benefits Staff

Responsibilities

Contact information

Penny Opalka
Senior  Benefits Manager

  • Benefit Program Management
  • Retirement Program Management
  • Insurance Appeals
  • Federal & State Mandated Compliance

301-644-5112
Penny.Opalka@fcps.org

Tricia Riley
Benefits Officer

  • FMLA/ADA/Leave Management
  • Worker’s Compensation
  • Retirement-disability
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5092
Tricia.Riley@fcps.org

Phoebe Barreto
Benefits Coordinator

  • 403b/457 enrollment
  • Wellness Programming
  • Retirement
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5085
Phoebe.Barreto@fcps.org

Doris Toms
HR Associate II

  • Retiree insurance
  • Life insurance claims
  • Medicare documentation
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5052
Doris.Toms@fcps.org

Molly Bentz
HR Associate I

  • Benefit enrollment/changes
  • Benefit questions
  • Flexible spending

301-644-5093
Molly.Bentz@fcps.org

Evelyn Davis
HR Associate I

  • Benefit enrollment/changes
  • Benefit questions
  • Flexible spending

301-644-5115
Evelyn.Davis@fcps.org

Christine Hobble
HR Associate I

  • Absence data processing
  • COBRA/LOA premiums
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5076

Christine.Hobble@fcps.org

Lisa Brashears
Administrative Secretary

  • Parental Leave-Maternity/Paternity
  • Benefit questions

301-644-4126
Lisa.Brashears@fcps.org

For Retirement Counseling

You can set up an appointment to discuss your Retirement Benefits with a Retirement Coordinator.  FCPS has Five (5) Retirement Coordinators available to assist with appointments.  To make an appointment, please call 301-644-5100 Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm EST.  Also see our Planning for Retirement section.

Insurance Contact Information

Plan/Contact

Address

Phone & Website

Health/Vision Insurance

UnitedHealthCare

Main Contact:                                          Claims Office:
UnitedHealthcare                                     P.O. Box 740800
800 Oak Street                                         Atlanta, GA 30374-0800
Frederick, MD 21703

Phone: 1-877-702-5116
www.myuhc.com

UnitedHealthCare Vision

P.O. Box 30978
Salt Lake City, UT 84130

Customer Service: 1-800-638-3120
Provider Locator: 1-800-839-3242 www.myuhcvision.com

Dental Insurance

Delta Dental

One Delta Drive Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Phone: 1-800-932-0783
www.deltadentalins.com

Flexible Spending Accounts

AxisPlus

860 East 9085 South
Sandy, UT 84094

Phone: 1-877-872-2125
www.myaxisplus.com

Prescription Plan

CVS/CareMark Claims Office

P.O. Box 52010
Phoenix, AZ 85072-2010

Phone: 1-866-260-4646
www.caremark.com

CVS/CareMark Mail Order

P.O. Box 94467 Palatine, IL 60094-4467

Fax: 1-800-323-0161