Sportsmanship Counts at FCPS

Sportsmanship Counts at FCPS

Two Frederick County public high schools recently received Central Maryland Conference (CMC) awards. Urbana High won the 2016-17 school year CMC Principals’ Cup, and Catoctin won the annual Sportsmanship Award.

This is the second consecutive year that the Urbana High School Hawks won the Principals’ Cup. Only Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association (MPSSAA) sports are used in determining the Principals’ Cup winner. They are baseball, basketball, cross country, field hockey, football, golf, indoor track, lacrosse, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, track and field, volleyball and wrestling. At the end of each sport season, each school and sport are ranked 1-10 based on their record and, if applicable, the outcome of the CMC championship game. For every student-athlete ejected from an athletic contest, three points are deducted. For every coach ejected, five points are deducted. The Frederick News Post provides each winning school an engraved trophy (cup), passed to the new winning school each year.

“UHS is honored to have again won the Principals' Cup. Our community is proud of our coaches' and athletes' shared commitment to sportsmanship,” says Principal David Kehne.

The Urbana Hawks won the following nine CMC championships this past school year: field hockey, girls’ soccer, boys’ soccer, volleyball, girls’ indoor track and field, baseball, girls’ tennis, boys’ tennis and girls’ track and field.

All 10 high school principals and all 10 athletic directors vote to determine the annual Sportsmanship Award. They base their votes on the sportsmanship they observed the past school year, taking into account behavior of coaches, student-athletes, fans, spectators and parents.

FCPS supervisor of Athletics and Extracurricular Activities commends Urbana and Catoctin on their awards: “Both the Principals’ Cup and the Sportsmanship Award are big honors that reflect excellence on and off the field. Sportsmanship definitely counts in the CMC.”

In the left (or top) photo below, left to right, are Frederick News-Post Sportswriter Greg Swatek, Urbana High School Athletic Director Ryan Hines, Urbana High School Principal David Kehne and FCPS Career and Technology Center student and CMC Spotlight TV Host Becca Dennis. In the right (or bottom) photo below, left to right, are Catoctin High School Athletic Director Kevin McMullen, FCPS Supervisor of Athletics and Extracurricular Activities Kevin Kendro and Catoctin High School Principal Bernard Quesada.

Principals Cup UHS 2017CHS Sportsmanship Award 2017