FCPS Wins Lemelson-MIT InvenTeam Grant: 1 of 15 Nationwide

FCPS Wins Lemelson-MIT InvenTeam Grant: 1 of 15 Nationwide

Frederick County Public Schools (FCPS) has just learned that our Career and Technology Center (CTC) Lemelson-MIT InvenTeam won one of 15 grants offered to high school teams nationwide. The local team will receive $9,100 to create a sustainable water-remediation system to provide drinking water for children at the Melka Olba School in Ethiopia.

Computer-Aided Design (CAD) Engineering teacher Phil Arnold initiated the InvenTeam application last spring and attended training at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in June to help prepare the final proposal. MIT professors and staff, inventors, researchers, entrepreneurs and high school educators assessed the applications before a prestigious panel of judges assembled this fall and selected the FCPS team as one of this year’s grant winners. Judges based their decision on inventiveness and feasibility of the proposed technical solution to a real-world problem.

CTC students will collaborate with Ethiopian Children’s Appeal Charity Founder Jo Elizabeth Butler as they develop and deploy their invention. In June they will showcase a prototype of their invention at EurekaFest at MIT in Cambridge, MA. EurekaFest is a multi-day celebration designed to empower a legacy of inventors through activities that inspire youth, honor role models and encourage creativity and problem solving.

FCPS has posted a video of the students’ project on YouTube at https://youtu.be/Z5fsLOX9GsM. In addition to the InvenTeam students, Mr. Arnold and Ms. Butler, the video depicts the Melka Olba School and its students in Ethiopia and includes remarks from FCPS Superintendent Dr. Terry Alban, Board of Education of Frederick County President Brad Young, CTC Principal Michael Concepcion, Frederick Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Elizabeth Cromwell, Frederick County Council President Bud Otis, CTC English teacher Lera Straits and Frederick County Executive Jan Gardner.

Students on the CTC Lemelson-MIT InventTeam are Andrew Daddone, Olivia Dart, Charlie Giglio, Darion Haile, Isaiah Jones, Jackson Larimore, Layke Martin, Brian McGiffin, Grace Neff, Ly Nguyen, Owen Packan, Jake Ramsey, Duncan Rozak, John Saud, Caroline Schrider, August Shrader, Ryan Vu, Brian Wade and Trevor Wheelock.

The MIT School of Engineering administers the InvenTeam program with funding from The Lemelson Foundation, with a goal to use the power of invention to improve lives, by inspiring and enabling the next generation of inventors to promote economic growth in the US and social and economic progress for the poor in developing countries.

Lemelson-MIT InvenTeam Photo

CTC InvenTeam students, left to right,
Front: John Saud, Owen Packan, Olivia Dart, Andrew Daddone, Ly Nguyen, Grace Neff, Caroline Schrider, and Charlie Giglio

Back: Isaiah Jones, Jake Ramsey, Jackson Larimore, Layke Martin, Darion Haile, August Shrader, Trevor Wheelock, Duncan Rozak, Brian Wade, Brian McGiffin, and Ryan Vu