Students Earn National Recognition

Students Earn National Recognition

Frederick County Public Schools’ Career and Technology Center (CTC) students in Phil Arnold’s Computer-Aided Design (CAD)-Architecture program were invited to present their design for a new high school at LearningSCAPES in Atlanta, GA, last weekend. LearningSCAPES is the Association for Learning Environments’ national conference. There they received special recognition for their work in the association’s 2017 SchoolsNEXT Inaugural High School Program.

The goal of SchoolsNEXT teams is to bring the student voice into the planning and design of exceptional learning environments. Students were asked to demonstrate their passion in rethinking the requisites of tomorrow’s learning environments, reaching beyond the school walls and developing solutions to global design challenges that inspire transformation in education.

The students created a redesign of Middletown High. Their work included architectural drawings in AutoCAD, 3-D modeling in Revit and 3-D printed models, project display boards, an accurate scale model of their design, a short video of their project, and a virtual-reality experience using Oculus Rift that enabled people to “walk through” their design.

“This is yet another example of the innovative work being done at the CTC. Our students deserve every award and accolade they receive, but I’m also incredibly proud of the skills they’re mastering,” said FCPS Superintendent Dr. Terry Alban.

Second-year CAD students, who have been working on the project for the past year, are Joe Kincaid, Joshua Kline, Brooklyn Poff, Alex Repass, Nina Crosby Walton and Robert Wilson. First-year CAD students who joined the project in September are Matt Brubaker, Rachel Burns, Aubrey Dearstine, Kyle Redman, Tyler Scott, Sarah Sedillo, Ezra Sullivan, Shaheer Syed and Jeffrey Wilson.      


Photo of CAD-Architecture Students

Left to right at the Association for Learning Environment’s national conference in Atlanta, GA, are FCPS CTC students Bobby Wilson, Alex Repass, Brooklyn Poff, Nina Crosby Walton and Joe Kincaid