Schools Restricted for Out-of-District Transfers

Schools Restricted for Out-of-District Transfers

Frederick County Public Schools will restrict out-of-district transfers at 26 schools in the 2018-19 school year, in accordance with FCPS regulation 400-78.

Based on enrollment projections, the following schools will be at or near 100% capacity when schools open in September 2018. Consequently, their enrollment is limited only to those students who reside within each school’s respective attendance area. Restricted elementary schools are: Brunswick, Centerville, Deer Crossing, Glade, Hillcrest, Monocacy, New Market, North Frederick, Tuscarora, Valley, Walkersville, Waverley, Whittier and Yellow Springs. Restricted middle schools are Ballenger Creek, Crestwood, Monocacy, Oakdale, Urbana and West Frederick. Restricted high schools are Middletown, Tuscarora, Urbana and Walkersville.

In addition, Butterfly Ridge Elementary and Urbana Elementary, which will be based at the new Sugarloaf Elementary while Urbana Elementary is renovated, are restricted because they are new schools.

FCPS publishes a list of restricted schools annually. Parents and guardians must renew out-of-district transfers for students every year. Transfer requests for students whose day care providers are located outside their assigned attendance area will be denied if the school the child would be attending has been declared restricted.

The at-capacity schools that are restricted for out-of-district transfers in September 2018 will continue under that designation for the 2018-19 school year. School designations are re-evaluated annually based on projections.

Parents or guardians who wish to request an out-of-district transfer may apply by completing the appropriate form, available at all local public schools, online, or at the FCPS Student Services office, 191 South East Street, Frederick.

The FCPS Student Services Office will accept new requests from April 1 to May 31, 2018. Those seeking to renew a request approved for the current school year must re-apply by Tuesday, May 1 and will be notified of the decision by Friday, June 1, 2018.