FCPS Names Four Finalists for Teacher of the Year

Teacher of the Year Finalists 2018Frederick County Public Schools has announced the four teachers advancing as finalists for the 2018-2019 FCPS Teacher of the Year Award, the county’s most prestigious award for teachers. Every school in FCPS is asked to nominate at least one outstanding teacher every year to be selected as the county’s Teacher of the Year. This year, after several stages of review that included interviews and submitting essays and other materials, FCPS narrowed the field to four outstanding finalists. They are:
*Melissa Hargreaves, Myersville Elementary. In addition to teaching fifth grade, Ms. Hargreaves has brought programs to her school like Trout in the Classroom, a garden club and an environmental club and has helped Myersville Elementary achieve Maryland Green School recognition. She also co-wrote several successful grant proposals that allowed the school to install outdoor educational areas through a Citizen Scientist program.
*Julie Ivins, North Frederick Elementary. As her school’s literacy specialist, Ms. Ivins is an exceptional advocate for students and teachers. She has led the school’s improvement team to develop very clear focus using data analysis and a model of instruction replicated in other schools. Articulate and passionate, she engages in courageous conversations to ensure cutting-edge practices that boost student achievement.
*Margie Liddick, FCPS Career and Technology Center. Ms. Liddick’s proactive “can do” approach and commitment to CTC’s mission of providing career education at the highest level has made for an exceptional Culinary Arts program. She spearheaded a new Culinary Foundation, co-chairs the center’s improvement team with the highest standards of integrity and challenges students with high expectations and a growth mindset.
*Timothy M. Snyder, Urbana Middle. Mr. Snyder fosters impressive achievements for visual arts students, reaching beyond school walls to community projects and PTSA Reflections contests to garner state-level accolades. He contributes hours to annual Youth Art Month events, coaches track teams and combines passions for art and running to support a local Color Run while inspiring students to realize their passions as well.

FCPS will announce the winner of the 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year award in May. FCPS’s current Teacher of the Year is Karima Sharper, who teaches special education at Centerville Elementary.

A list of 2018 nominees and their photos are online at www.fcps.org/toy.