FCPS Celebrates Special Education Award Winners

FCPS Celebrates Special Education Award Winners

The Frederick County Public Schools’ Department of Special Education and Psychological Services hosted a celebration on May 14, honoring employees and others with outstanding achievement awards for dedication supporting students with disabilities.  

Michelle Hill from Urbana High, Jane Hatcher from West Frederick Middle and Erin Chaney from Glade Elementary received Outstanding Special Educator awards.

Stella Norgbe from Gov. Thomas Johnson High, Michelle Biehl from Gov. Thomas Johnson Middle and Felicia Line from the FCPS Child Find Office received Outstanding Special Education Instructional Assistant awards.

Joe Schlag from Carroll Manor Elementary received the Outstanding Speech-Language Pathologist award.

Orchard Grove Elementary Principal Shirley Olsen was named Outstanding Special Education Administrator.

Geri Pryor was named Outstanding School Psychologist.

Lynn Davis from the Child Advocacy Center was recognized with a Friend of Special Education award.  

Jamie Fox received this year’s Outstanding Related Service Provider award.

The Civitan Club of Frederick, Famous Dave’s, Giant Food, Uncle Ralph’s Cookies, Wegmans and several anonymous givers donated refreshments. The Civitan Club also generously donated the awards that honorees received.

Special Education Awards 2018

Left to right

Front row: FCPS Director for Special Education Compliance and Student Support Carol Breeze, Jane Hatcher, Stella Norgbe, Michelle Biehl, Felicia Line, FCPS Superintendent Dr Terry Alban and Shirley Olsen

Back row: FCPS Director for Special Education Instruction and Student Performance Michelle Concepcion, Lynn Davis, Michelle Hill, Geri Pryor, Erin Chaney, Jamie Fox, Joseph Schlag and BOE President Brad Young