Teams Qualify for State-Level Destination Imagination Challenges

Teams Qualify for State-Level Destination Imagination Challenges

Frederick County Public Schools’ students competed Saturday, March 16 in the Western Region Destination Imagination Tournament in Williamsport, Maryland. Thirteen of the school system’s 23 competing teams placed high enough to earn the distinction of representing the region at the state tournament on Saturday, March 30 at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.  

Destination Imagination is an annual worldwide, creative problem-solving competition. To determine winning teams, judges observe how well students use improvisational skills in instant-challenge problems and how well they have prepared for the competition’s long-term challenges. This year’s competition topics were Escape Artists, Rising Stars, Heads Up, Game On, Monster Effects, Medical Mystery, On Target and Instant Challenge.

“The teamwork and creative problem solving these students exhibited was outstanding,” said Meg Lee, FCPS supervisor of advanced academics. “Using critical and creative thinking to solve unique problems and share solutions with others is a skill that is central to developing innovative learners. In addition to the names referenced below, countless other FCPS staff members served as appraisers and challenge masters for this event. Special thanks to the teachers, parents and volunteers who helped to make this opportunity available to students, and to tournament director Dan Henderson for providing a magnificent forum for creativity in our region. Saturday was a great day for FCPS!.”

Teams advancing to the state tournament are as follows:

*Frederick Classical Charter School students (two teams) Zoe Glasby, Arya Nieves, Rilley O’Donnell, Samuel Ormsby, Avery Pierre and Jeongmin Sung with manager Karen Ekelman on the Gamers team and Celine Lieu, Isaiah Ormsby, Isha Patel, Zachary Pierre, Everett Sechler and Aaron Villalobos with manager Diana Sung on the Ultrafoxes team

*Gov. Thomas Johnson Middle students Lilly Carlton, Dillen Owusu, Caitlyn Perry, Alexandra Ramos, Anna Ritterbusch and Andrew Smith with manager Hazel Campos-Braus on the Steamy No-Brainers team

*Green Valley Elementary students Bennett Blum, Joseph Malone, Mateo Rincan, Jayden Stavely and Suhail Ziad with manager Mike Blum on the Wizards team

*Middletown Middle students Isaac Cosgrove, Michah Cosgrove, Isobel Dominesey, Jaden Kenyatta, Marlea Long, Riley Gomes Speckhadt and Matheo Trujillo with manager Dianne Thompson on the Knights team

*New Market Elementary students Jenna Ablondi, Sophia Ferro, Jason Thurston and Chandler Ways with manager Jennifer Ways on the Z Xtreme Creators team

*New Market Middle students William Brandenburg, Max Dickson, Max DiFabio, Isabella Grob and Patricia Moses with manager Renee Heeley on the Plastic Forks team

*Oakdale Elementary (2 teams) students Charlie Alt, Ava Evans, Beth Frederick, Makenna Hunter, Lilly Ireland, Grant Lutz and Cara McCathran with manager Meg Lutz on the DI Duck Squad team and Aariz Jamil, Ayaan Jamil, Rebekah McClaflin, Abigail Repass, Alex Rodriguez and Keegan Remphery with manager Sharilyn McClaflin on the KAAARs team

*Oakdale Middle (2 teams) Layla El-Sharif, Emily Hartz, Samantha Hartz and Victoria Lemick with manager Susan Hartz on the Let’s DI team and Nico Araya, Steven Berger, Adlee Boerum, Charles Day and Jacob Demory with managers Patty Berger and An Kerstetter-Day on the Patriotic Eagles team

*Urbana Elementary students Alex Barlow, Eliana Deslisle, Zachary Issler, Aiza Kazmi, John Kidd, Katie Schmitt and Aditi Senthilkumar with manager Christy Issler on the Hilarious Hawks team

*Windsor Knolls Middle students Skylar Robisch, Nicole Simmons and Duncan Ways with manager Rob Robisch on the Whoa! team.