FCPS Celebrates Special Education Award Winners

FCPS Celebrates Special Education Award Winners

The Frederick County Public Schools’ Department of Special Education and Psychological Services hosted a celebration on May 13, honoring employees and others with outstanding achievement awards for dedication supporting students with disabilities.  

Heather Shevstov from Tuscarora High, Aimee Smith from Heather Ridge and Alissa Gordon from Monocacy Elementary received Outstanding Special Educator awards.

Tiffany Cuddahee from Walkersville High, Martha Spencer from Windsor Knolls Middle and Mary Lopez from Emmitsburg Elementary received Outstanding Special Education Instructional Assistant awards. 

Ann Springer from Emmitsburg Elementary received the Outstanding Speech-Language Pathologist award. 

Hillcrest Elementary Assistant Principal Michele Baisey was named Outstanding Special Education Administrator. 

Wesley Allen was named Outstanding School Psychologist. 

Middletown Elementary student Skyla Skaggs was recognized with a Friend of Special Education award.  

Behavioral Support Specialist Devan Dewees received this year’s Outstanding Related Service Provider award.

The Civitan Club of Frederick, Costco, Food Lion, Wegmans, Giant Food, Giant Eagle, Uncle Ralph’s Cookies, and several anonymous donors supplied refreshments. The Civitan Club also generously donated the awards that honorees received. 

Special Education Award Winners Photo
Left to right:   
FCPS Deputy Superintendent Michael Markoe, Director of Special Education Instruction and Student Performance Michelle Concepcion, Superintendent Dr. Terry Alban, Board of Education President Brad W. Young, award winners Aimee Smith, Heather Shevstov, Martha Spencer, Mary Lopez, Tiffany Cuddahee, student Skyla Skaggs, Wesley Allen, and Alissa Gordon, Board of Education member Karen Yoho, award winners Michele Baisey and Devan Dewees, Board of Education member Lois Jarman, award winner Ann Springer, Board of Education member Jay Mason, and Acting Director for Special Education Compliance and Student Support Linda Chambers