FCPS Announces Academic Tournament Schedule

FCPS Announces Academic Tournament Schedule

Academic Tournament teams from all 10 Frederick County public high schools are preparing for heated competition in matches to take place Fridays at Frederick High.  All matches are open free to the public.    

Matches begin at 6 p.m. and take place Fridays, January 3, 10, 17, 24 and 31 and February 7 and 14. The final matches and championship tournament are Friday, February 21, starting at 5:45 PM. Snow dates, if needed, are Monday, January 27 at 6 p.m. and Friday, February 28 at 5:45 p.m.

In its 39th year, the local Academic Tournament promises to bring excitement as students go head to head, putting their knowledge and recall to the test.  Each three-way match has five rounds; the fourth consists of 10 questions from a previously announced special topic for the week. After all teams have competed in final matches on February 21, the three high-scoring teams will continue in the championship until a winner is declared that evening. The championship team gets to showcase the trophy for the year.  

Since 1982, Linganore teams have won the tournament nine times, Frederick High has won six, Gov. Thomas Johnson, Middletown and Walkersville have each won five, Brunswick and Urbana have each won three times, and teams from  Catoctin and Tuscarora have each won once.

Retired Walkersville High School teacher Eric Reickel will serve as master of ceremonies, reading questions at the event, with Academic Tournament coordinators Marsha Thompson and Kelly Misner assisting and confirming the scores. Teacher sponsors agreed that the 1920s will be the special topic for the finals on February 21. The special topics for each week are Star Wars on January 3, physics on January 10, World War II on January 17, Shakespeare’s works on January 24, Hall of Fame players (NFL, NBA, NHL, MLB) on January 31, 90s music on February 7, and the geography of Islam on February 14.

Tradition also includes bestowing the Curriculum Specialists’ Award at the championship to an individual or group, to be announced, who has made significant contributions to the tournament’s success.