Brunswick Students Win Academic Tournament

Brunswick Students Win Academic Tournament

Brunswick High School students won this year’s countywide Academic Tournament, achieving their second win in the tournament’s history. Their first was in 1985. As the home of the championship team, Brunswick High gets to showcase the trophy for the year.

In its 36th year, the local Academic Tournament brought excitement as students put their knowledge and recall to the test in matches throughout January and February. Since 1982, Linganore teams have won the tournament nine times, Frederick High has won six, Gov. Thomas Johnson and Middletown have each won five, Walkersville has won four, Urbana has won three, and teams from Catoctin and Tuscarora have each won once.

Brunswick High School Principal Michael Dillman commends all students on his school’s winning team: Wordda Aberra, Kristine Allen, Todd Allen, Calvin Barnhart, Peyton Bell, Matthew Bolingbroke, Ian Burr, Gillian Carr, Erika Clary, Joshua Cosgrove, Isabel Damazo, Loretta Donoghue, Taylor Edwards, Arnau Falgueras Garcia de Atocha, Mylz Hahn, Jacob Herrmann, Anthony Hopko, Christian Kantner, Brecken Keller, Michelle Khattri, Audrey Lee, Kealy Murphy, Brian Nelle, Johanna Philipp, Chase Rogowsky, Glenn Rogowsky, Mikenna Rogowsky, Ethan Ropp, Alexandra Schneider, Isabelle Stepler, Danielle Tuomey, Samuel Watkins, Casey Weddle, Alexander White, Thomas White and Morgan Willems. He also commends their coaches: Louis Eskuchen and Jim Kelly.

Students from Walkersville High placed second, and the Urbana team placed third.

Walkersville High School teacher Tom Kollai served as master of ceremonies, reading questions at the event, with Academic Tournament coordinator Nick Diaz assisting. 

Tradition includes bestowing the Charles “Chuck” Thomas Memorial Award, often referred to as the curriculum specialists’ award, after the championship to an individual or group who has made significant contributions to the tournament’s success. This year’s award winner was Urbana High School Principal Dave Kehne. According to tournament coordinator Nick Diaz, “Mr. Kehne attended all eight matches this year. By agreeing to host the Academic Tournament at Linganore High when he was principal there, Mr. Kehne gave the event a much-needed home. With this award we honor his exceptional support.”

FCPS has posted a video of the championship online at