Contact Us

Our goal is to provide you outstanding customer service!!  Possibly you may find available information within these pages or you may need to contact us directly for additional information.  You will find our Benefits Team is friendly and ready to help.

Find Us or Call Us

Office Address & Location:
Frederick County Public Schools
HR/Benefits Office
191 South East Street
Frederick, MD 21701

Benefit Contact Information

301-644-5080 ( Main phone)
301-644-5122 (fax)

Benefits Staff

Responsibilities

Contact information

Penny Opalka
Senior  Benefits Manager

  • Benefit Program Management
  • Retirement Program Management
  • Insurance Appeals
  • Federal & State Mandated Compliance

301-644-5112
Penny.Opalka@fcps.org

Sarah Minnick
Benefits Officer

  • FMLA/ADA/Leave Management
  • Worker’s Compensation
  • Retirement-disability
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5092
Sarah.Minnick@fcps.org

Phoebe Barreto
Benefits Coordinator

  • 403b/457 enrollment
  • Wellness Programming
  • Retirement
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5085
Phoebe.Barreto@fcps.org

Doris Toms
HR Associate II

  • Retiree insurance
  • Life insurance claims
  • Medicare documentation
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5052
Doris.Toms@fcps.org

Molly Bentz
HR Associate I

  • Benefit enrollment/changes
  • Benefit questions
  • Flexible spending

301-644-5093
Molly.Bentz@fcps.org

Evelyn Davis
HR Associate I

  • Benefit enrollment/changes
  • Benefit questions
  • Flexible spending
  • Retiree insurance

301-644-5115
Evelyn.Davis@fcps.org

Chris Hobble
HR Associate I

  • Absence data processing
  • COBRA/LOA premiums
  • Benefit questions

301-644-5076
Christine.Hobble@fcps.org

Lisa Brashears
Administrative Secretary

  • Parental Leave-Maternity/Paternity
  • Benefit questions

301-644-4126
Lisa.Brashears@fcps.org

For Retirement Counseling

You can set up an appointment to discuss your Retirement Benefits with a Retirement Coordinator.  FCPS has Five (5) Retirement Coordinators available to assist with appointments.  To make an appointment, please call 301-644-5100 Monday through Friday from 9am to 4pm EST.  Also see our Preparing for Retirement section.

Insurance Contact Information

Plan/Contact

Address

Phone & Website

Health/Vision Insurance

CareFirst Medical

CareFirst Administrator
P.O. Box 14116
Lexington, KY 40512

Phone: 1-866-386-2043
www.carefirst.com/frederick
www.carefirst.com

CareFirst Vision

CareFirst Administrator
P.O. Box 14116
Lexington, KY 40512

Phone: 1-866-386-2043
www.carefirst.com/frederick
www.carefirst.com

Dental Insurance

Delta Dental

One Delta Drive
Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

Phone: 1-800-932-0783
www.deltadentalins.com

Flexible Spending Accounts

AxisPlus

860 East 9085 South
Sandy, UT 84094

Phone: 1-877-872-2125
www.myaxisplus.com

Prescription Plan

CVS/CareMark Claims Office

P.O. Box 52010
Phoenix, AZ 85072-2010

Phone: 1-866-260-4646
www.caremark.com

CVS/CareMark Mail Order

P.O. Box 94467
Palatine, IL 60094-4467

Fax: 1-800-323-0161