Meet the Board: Joy Schaefer, Vice President

Joy Schaefer

Joy Schaefer, Vice President
Current elected term: December 2016 - December 2020


Joy Schaefer was first elected to the Board of Education in November 2012 to serve a four-year term December 2012–16. Mrs. Schaefer has served as the Board's vice president (December 2012–13) and president (December 2013–14). She was re-elected in November 2016 to serve a second four-year term through November 2020 and re-elected vice president in December 2018.

Mrs. Schaefer is a graduate of Georgetown University, earning a degree in Foreign Service. Professionally, she evaluated and administered grant-giving programs at MONY (Mutual of New York) Life Insurance and the MONY Foundation. She served as Director of Programming and Public Affairs for the Foreign Policy Association in New York City, where she developed educational programs, curriculum, and resources for educators at the secondary-school level through learning in retirement. She has experience in project and organizational management, employee and volunteer training, press and community relations, and strategic planning, in both the not-for-profit and private sectors.

Mrs. Schaefer has been a long-time volunteer in Frederick County Public Schools, at the local school and county levels. She has served in various roles at local PTA / PTSAs and on the PTA Council of Frederick County. She served on the 2010 Elementary Math Task Force and on the school system’s Family School Partnership Committee. She is active at the state level, representing all 24 Maryland school boards in her work through the Maryland Association for Boards of Education (MABE). She has served on MABE's Board of Directors, as an officer and as chair of the organization's Legislative Committee. She is the immediate past president of MABE. She is also on the Board of Directors of the United Way of Frederick County and chairs that organization's Community Impact Committee.

She and her husband have lived in Frederick since 2001. Their three boys attend Frederick County public schools.