FCPS Calendar Handbook and Information

2019-2020 School Year

The Board of Education of Frederick County finalized the FCPS 2019-2020 academic calendar at their meeting on Wednesday, April 10, 2019.

2018-2019 School Year

Please see revised legislation to education article 7-103 regarding the length of the school year.

2018-2019 Snow Closings and Delays

  • Thursday, November 15, 2018: Schools closed, Employees Code Blue, offices closed 3 hours early
  • Friday, November 16, 2018: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Code Green
  • Monday, January 14, 2019: Schools closed, Employees Code Blue (originally 2 hrs late, code green)
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019: All afterschool and evening activities canceled or postponed
  • Friday, January 18, 2019: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Code Green
  • Tuesday, January 29, 2019: Schools closed 3 hours early, Employees Code Green
  • Wednesday, January 30, 2019: Schools closed, Employees Code Orange (originally 2 hrs late, code green)
  • Thursday, January 31, 2019: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Modified Code Green
  • Friday, February 1, 2019: All afterschool and evening activities canceled or postponed
  • Monday, February 11, 2019: Schools closed, Employees Code Blue (originally 2 hrs late, modified code green)
  • Tuesday, February 12, 2019: Schools closed, Employees Code Blue (originally 2 hrs late, code green; then closed code orange)
  • Wednesday, February 13, 2019: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Code Green
  • Wednesday, February 20, 2109: Schools closed. Employees Code Yellow
  • Thursday, February 21, 2019: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Code Green
  • Friday, March 1, 2019: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Code Green (switched 2 hr early dismissal for 2 hr delay)
  • Monday, March 4, 2019: Schools opened 2 hours late, Employees Code Green
     

Athletics Starting Dates: 2019-20 School Year

Season

Starting Date

Fall 2019 Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Winter 2019-20 Friday, November 15, 2019
Spring 2020 Saturday, February 29, 2020
Fall 2020 Wednesday, August 13, 2020

Resources