FCPS Names Jonathan Kurtz 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year

2022-23 Teacher of the Year Jonathan KurtzGov. Thomas Johnson High’s Jonathan Kurtz was named the 2022-23 Frederick County Public Schools Teacher of the Year this morning at a surprise ceremony attended by students, teachers, administrators and community and education leaders.

This is the most prestigious award bestowed to a FCPS educator. Kurtz will serve as the FCPS representative in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year program.

“We were thrilled to recognize Jonathan this morning as the FCPS Teacher of the Year,” Interim Superintendent Dr. Mike Markoe said. “Since he arrived at Gov. Thomas Johnson High, he has worked extremely hard to support students and consistently advocates for arts education throughout the community.”

At T.J. High, Kurtz serves as the Coordinator of the Academy for the Fine Arts, a program open to students from all 10 comprehensive high schools. During virtual learning, the Academy of Fine Arts was able to keep performing at a distance. Kurtz is passionate about music and wasn’t about to let student performances go quiet.

He has taught music in grades K-12 for the last 19 years, including concert band, jazz band, orchestra, music theory, music technology and music history. He regularly participates in curriculum writing and department-chair meetings and served on the school’s Hybrid Reopening Committee.

Joining Dr. Markoe at today’s celebration were Board of Education President Brad Young, Board member Karen Yoho and Frederick County Teachers Association President Missy Dirks.

Kurtz was grateful to receive gifts from community partners supporting the FCPS Teacher of the Year, including Dynamic Automotive and the FERKO Maryland Federal Credit Union. 

All FCPS schools were eligible to name a School-level Teacher of the Year. A full list of 2022 FCPS Teacher of the Year nominees is posted online, as are details about the FCPS Teacher of the Year program.