FCPS Receives Three National Awards

FCPS Receives Three National Awards

Three significant awards have been announced for the Frederick County Public Schools’ Fiscal Services Division.

The FCPS Financial Reporting Department has been honored with two awards for excellence in Financial Reporting, and the FCPS Purchasing Department has won the Achievement in Excellence in Procurement Award.

“I am so proud of both the departments of Financial Reporting and Purchasing, led by Melissa Rollison and Bill Meekins,” FCPS Chief Financial Officer Leslie Pellegrino said. “They strive for excellence in everything they do, and these awards are affirmation of what I see every day. Our community should feel assured of the strong fiscal management at FCPS.”

FCPS earned the Certificate of Achievement of Excellence for the annual FCPS comprehensive financial report from the Government Finance Officers Association of the U.S. and Canada for the fiscal year that ended June 30, 2021. This was the 13th consecutive year that FCPS has won this prestigious award.

An impartial panel said the report demonstrates a constructive "spirit of full disclosure" to clearly communicate its financial story and motivate potential users to read the document. The Certificate of Achievement is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting, and its attainment represents a significant accomplishment by a government and its management.

The Financial Reporting Department also received, for 14th consecutive year, the Association of School Business Officials (ASBO) International’s Certificate of Excellence (COE) for the Annual Comprehensive Financial Report for the fiscal year that ended June 30, 2021. The COE award promotes and recognizes excellence in financial reporting and illustrates FCPS has met the program’s high standards for financial reporting and transparency.

The Purchasing Department honor, which FCPS has now earned six years in a row, is presented annually by the National Procurement Institute, Inc. The award recognizes organizations that embrace innovation, professionalism, productivity, leadership and e-Procurement, demonstrating a commitment to organizational improvement and procurement excellence.