FCPS Finalists for Washington Post Educators of the Year

FCPS logo

The Washington Post Educator of the Year Awards recognize educators who go beyond the day-to-day demands of their position to create an exceptional learning environment for students. The FCPS Washington Post Teacher of the Year finalist was the first runner up from the 2022-23 Teacher of the Year Award program. Our Washington Post Principal of the Year finalist was nominated and then chosen by a selection committee.

Here are our finalists:

Washington Post Teacher of the Year Finalist – Walkersville Elementary School’s Mary Geasey is a special education instructor who’s been a teacher with FCPS for 18 years. Prior to joining Walkersville Elementary, she taught at Middletown Primary and Kemptown Elementary. Geasey is in the Vanguard Teacher program and is a member of both the Teacher Advisory Council and the Frederick County Teacher Association’s Leadership Development committee.

She earned a master’s degree in Special Education from Frostburg State University, a master of arts in Elementary Education from West Virginia University (WVA) and a bachelor of arts degree in Multi-Disciplinary Studies from WVA.

For more information on her nomination: https://www.fcps.org/public-affairs/recipients-wapo-toy

Washington Post Principal of the Year Finalist – Hillcrest Elementary’s Justin McConnaughey has been with FCPS for 20 years serving first as a physical education teacher then assistant principal and later as principal. Prior to becoming Hillcrest’s principal, he served as principal at Brunswick Elementary. McConnaughey was an assistant principal at Spring Ridge Elementary and Walkersville Elementary. In 2016, he was named a National Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year. McConnaughey earned both a bachelor of arts degree in Education and a master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Shepherd University.

For more information on his nomination: https://www.fcps.org/public-affairs/recipients-wapo

The Washington Post will announce one regional winner for Principal of the Year and one regional winner for the Teacher of the Year in April of 2023. The awardees will receive a signature trophy and a $7,500 monetary award as well as a ½ page feature spot in the Washington Post Newspaper.

Mary Geasey

Mary Geasey, Special Education Instructor
Walkersville Elementary School

Justin McConnaughey

Justin McConnaughey, Principal
Hillcrest Elementary School