FCPS Names Teacher of the Year Finalists

FCPS logo

Four Frederick County Public Schools teachers are advancing as finalists for the 2023-2024 FCPS Teacher of the Year Award, the county’s most prestigious award for teachers.

The finalists are:

Barbara Cicmanec, Twin Ridge Elementary
Kelly Montgomery, Kemptown Elementary
Nicole Rhoades, Windsor Knolls Middle
Peter Ricciuti, Rock Creek School

Barbara Cicmanec is a fifth-grade teacher at Twin Ridge. She has 20 years of experience teaching primary, elementary and middle school students in multiple curricular areas. Cicmanec has served many leadership roles, including as a School Improvement Team member, new teacher mentor, equity representative, and Mind Brain Education participant. She is a Governor's Academy Math and Science graduate.

Kemptown Elementary’s Kelly Montgomery currently teaches a combined first and second grade class. During her 15 years at Kemptown, she also taught kindergarten. Montgomery has served as team leader and teacher representative on the PTA. She is co-chair of the Frederick County Literacy Chapter and has served as the chair of the Teachers as Readers Committee.

After teaching in Baltimore County and conducting biomedical research at Johns Hopkins Medical Institute, Nicole Rhoades began teaching at Walkersville Middle. She later moved to Windsor Knolls Middle where she has taught seventh and eighth grade science for 13 years. Rhoades has received an Excellence Award for Gifted & Talented Education.

Peter Ricciuti has been a special education teacher and case manager at Rock Creek School since 2012 and has served on the leadership team and several school improvement committees. He has worked in the banking industry and in environmental education and has been admitted to the Maryland Bar.

FCPS will announce the 2023-2024 Teacher of the Year later this month. The 2023-24 Teacher of the Year will represent Frederick County in the Maryland Teacher of the Year program. The current FCPS Teacher of the Year is Gov. Thomas Johnson High’s Jonathan Kurtz, the coordinator of the FCPS Academy for the Fine Arts.

A list of 2023 nominees and their photos are online at www.fcps.org/toy.

Barbara Cicmanec, TRES

Barbara Cicmanec
Twin Ridge Elementary

Kelly Montgomery, KES

Kelly Montgomery
Kemptown Elementary

Nicole Rhoades, WKMS

Nicole Rhoades
Windsor Knolls Middle

Peter Ricciuti, RCS

Peter Ricciuti
Rock Creek School