BOE Honors Support Employees of the Year

Anthony Platt and Todd Imes

Electrician Todd Imes and custodian Anthony Platt were named the 2023 FCPS Support Employees of the Year at last night’s Board of Education of Frederick County meeting.

Imes, the Central Office Support Employee of the Year, has worked 15 years for FCPS as an electrician and currently serves the Catoctin cluster. He was nominated for the award by Thurmont Middle School Assistant Principal Anita Shank.

“As a high-quality employee, Mr. Imes champions individual and professional excellence,” Shank wrote in her nomination. “He shows excellence and initiative as he goes beyond his basic job duties and addresses additional asks to ensure our building is safe and running efficiently. Mr. Imes’ work and commitment to the betterment of our school is respected and admired by all who know him.”

Platt, the lead custodian at Walkersville Elementary School, is the 2023 School-based Support Employee of the Year. He has been with FCPS for almost 15 years and was nominated by co-worker Jill McWilliams.

“[Mr. Platt] knows the names of every student attending WES and works to connect with them by greeting them in the morning, helping them at breakfast and lunch, delivering supplies, keeping our school clean and offering to fix all manner of things, from broken furniture to broken backpacks,” Williams wrote in her nomination. “He creates an inviting, pristine, welcoming building for all of us to enjoy, and I am beyond grateful that he is part of our school community!”

This year, the FCPS Support Employees of the Year program recognized outstanding members of the school system’s support staff in eight broad job categories. Imes and Platt were selected to receive the overall FCPS Central Office and School-Based Support Employee of the Year awards. The two overall winners receive a cash award, a personal day off, special trophy and Board of Education pin.

The other support employees who received recognition are:

  • School-based Special Education Instructional Assistant of the Year: Ionie Martin, Frederick Classical Charter School
  • School-based Food Service Employee of the Year: Esther Snyder, Middletown High
  • Bus Assistant of the Year: Kimberly Lescalleet
  • School-based Secretary of the Year: Lacee Andrew, Catoctin High
  • Business and Instructional Support Employee of the Year: Sheila Kahler, Early Childhood Education Office
  • Central Office Secretary of the Year: Faye Zimmerman, formerly Legal Services, now Student Services.

These six employees will each receive a special FCPS plaque.

Support Employees of the Year 2023

L-R: Faye Zimmerman, Kim Lescalleet, Lacee Andrew, Anthony Platt,
Todd Imes, Sheila Kahler, Esther Snyder, Ionie Martin