Oakdale High achieves National Blue Ribbon Status

National Blue Ribbon School logo

Oakdale High School was recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School for 2023 by U.S. Secretary of Education Dr. Miguel Cardona.

Oakdale High was one of 353 schools nationally and one of six schools in Maryland to achieve National Blue Ribbon Status this year.

Oakdale is the 14th FCPS school to earn National Blue Ribbon Status.

“We are thrilled for the Oakdale High community to earn this prestigious designation,” FCPS Superintendent Dr. Cheryl L. Dyson said. “Led by principal Bill Caulfield, the Oakdale High community truly supports every student, and this recognition is indicative of the hard work being done in the school building every day.”

Rigorous state and national requirements for high achievement and significant improvement serve as the basis for Blue Ribbon School selection. The award honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools whose students achieve at high levels or have made significant progress and helped close gaps in achievement, especially among disadvantaged and minority students.

“This award is for every staff member and student who has graced the hallways of our amazing school,” Caulfield said. “From our humble beginnings as a school comprised of 600 freshmen and sophomores, to our current high school of almost 1,700 students, leadership and excellence both inside and outside the classroom has been the hallmark of what we do. This honor recognizes the hard work and determination of OHS staff, students, and community members.”

Oakdale High will be honored among the other award winners at an awards ceremony in November in Washington, D.C. In the last 41 years, more than 9,000 schools have received National Blue Ribbon status.

The other National Blue Ribbon Schools in FCPS are:

  • Urbana High (2019)
  • Urbana Elementary (2018)
  • Centerville Elementary (2017)
  • Kemptown Elementary (2015)
  • New Market Elementary (2010)
  • Windsor Knolls Middle (2002)
  • Middletown Middle (1998)
  • Yellow Springs Elementary (1994)
  • Frederick High (1993)
  • ·Linganore High (1993)
  • Gov. Thomas Johnson High (1991)
  • Middletown Elementary (1990)
  • Middletown High (1987)

More information is online at http://www.ed.gov/nationalblueribbonschools