Frederick High’s Sheri Murphy named MASSP Assistant Principal of the Year

Sheri Murphy

Frederick High School’s Sheri Murphy is the 2024 Maryland Assistant Principal of Year.

This recognition, bestowed by the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals, is given to just one assistant principal in the state each year. 

Murphy is the first administrator to earn this prestigious honor while serving at an FCPS school. She was surprised with the news at a school assembly attended by staff, students, and FCPS and county leaders, including Frederick County Executive Jessica Fitzwater and Board of Education of Frederick County President Karen Yoho.

“[Ms. Murphy] works tirelessly for students and staff at Frederick High School and does not quit until the job is done,” Frederick High Principal Dr. David Franceschina said in his remarks at the surprise ceremony. 

Murphy is in her sixth year as an assistant principal at Frederick High, where she promotes a culture of academic achievement for all students. When she encounters students who show leadership qualities, she encourages them to get involved with school clubs or seek leadership positions in school organizations.

In her nomination packet, a Frederick High student wrote that Murphy boasts a great sense of humor and is always approachable. Students turn to her when they have questions, concerns or simply want to celebrate a Frederick High achievement. 

A Frederick High mathematics teacher shared Murphy is a catalyst for encouraging educators to learn with and support each other. She makes collaborative planning and professional development a priority for staff. 

Prior to serving at Frederick High School, Murphy was an assistant principal for five years at Walkersville High School. She earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Alvernia University and a Master’s Degree from Marywood University – both for social work. She also earned a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from Hood College. 

More information about the MAASP and past recipients of Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year are posted online.