Frederick County Public School Students Elected to State FFA Officers Team


(left to right) Sentinel - Mia McGuffin, Brunswick FFA Chapter; Reporter - Katelyn Bullock, Southern FFA; Treasurer - William Moore, Boonsboro FFA; Secretary - Scarlett Heffner, Hereford FFA; Vice President - Ella Burrier, Catoctin FFA; and President - Abigail Effland, Frederick FFA.

Frederick County Public Schools (FCPS) is pleased to share that three of the six newly elected 2024-2025 Maryland State FFA officers are Frederick County Public School graduates.

The announcement of newly elected officers was made during the 96th Maryland FFA State Convention at the end of June.

“I’m so proud of our three recent FCPS graduates earning such important leadership positions within FFA,” FCPS Superintendent Dr. Cheryl L. Dyson said. “Abigail, Ella, and Mia were student leaders at their high schools, and I know they will serve their peers throughout the state well.”

  • Frederick High graduate Abigail Effland will serve as the 2024-25 Maryland State FFA President. Effland served as the Frederick FFA Chapter President. She was also the 2023-24 Frederick County Dairy Princess.
  • Catoctin High graduate Ella Burrier will serve as the Maryland State FFA Vice President. She served as the Catoctin FFA Chapter President.
  • Brunswick High graduate Mia McGuffin will serve as the Maryland State FFA Reporter. She served as the Brunswick FFA Chapter President.

FFA is a youth organization that prepares members for leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.