FCPS and CMC Logos


Create a culture committed to excellence in academics, athletics and character development


Develop a community of student-athletes, coaches and parents who accept the responsibility of creating and maintaining a positive, competitive environment valuing good sportsmanship, self-discipline, hard work, empathy, fair and courageous team play while winning with humility and losing with grace.


To play a major role in preparing student-athletes for post-graduate options.

Organization of FCPS Interscholastic Athletics

FCPS has ten high schools ranging in size from 700 to 1,700 students. Each school has an athletic director who oversees the school's athletic program. Each athletic program consists of 23 varsity, 11 junior varsity and three corollary sports. Countywide, FCPS employs more than 500 coaches to supervise and teach the nearly 8,000 student-athletes who participate in the athletic program. The supervisor of athletics administers and manages the FCPS interscholastic and corollary athletic programs.

The FCPS interscholastic athletic program is operating under the regulations of the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association (opens in new window) (MPSSAA), which is comprised of more than 113,000 student athletes from 198 member schools from nine districts. MPSSAA hosts 24 state tournaments each school year. The MPSSAA is a member of the National Federation of High School Associations (opens in new window).

In fall 2015, FCPS competed in the newly formed Central Maryland Conference (CMC), comprised of all 10 FCPS high schools. Beginning fall 2017, we welcome the following Washington County Public Schools to the CMC - North Hagerstown, South Hagerstown, Smithsburg, Williamsport, and Boonsboro.