Frederick-News Post Principals Cup

Urbana High won the 2016 Principals Cup

The Central Maryland Conference is pleased to announce a partnership with the Frederick News-Post (opens in new window) to recognize the top interscholastic athletic program in the league each year. This program began with the 2015-2016 school year.

2018 Winner: Spires Division - Urbana High School

picture of UHS Principals Cup Winners, Spires Division

Urbana High School Winners, Spires Divison: Kevin Kendro, Supervisor of Athletics and Extracurricular Activities; Ryan Hines, UHS Athletic Director and Dave Kehne, UHS Principal.

2018 Winner: Gambrill Division: Oakdale High School

picture of OHS Principals Cup winners, Gambrill Division

Oakdale High School Winners, Gambrill Division: Kevin Kendro, Supervisor of Athletics and Extracurricular Activities; Chris Krivos, OHS Athletic Director and Donna Clabaugh, OHS Principal.

Previous Winners

2017 Winner - Urbana High School

photo of Principals' Cup  winners UHS 2017

Urbana High School Winners: Greg Swatek, FNP High School Sportswriter; Ryan Hines, UHS Athletic Director; Dave Kehne, UHS Principal and Becca Dennis, CTC student and host of CMS Spotlight TV show.

2016  Winner - Urbana High School

The 2016 Principals Cup winners the Urbana Hawks.

Urbana High School winners: Kevin Kendro, Supervisor of Athletics and Extracurricular Activities; Ryan Hines, UHS Athletic director and Michael Chaves, UHS Acting Principal.

Check out the CMC Spotlight interview with Urbana High acting principal Michael Chavez, Urbana High athletic director Ryan Hines and Frederick News-Post high school sports writer Greg Swatek.

2017 Final Standings

Rank School CMC Championships
1 Urbana

Field Hockey, Girls’ Soccer, Boys’ Soccer, Volleyball, Girls’ Indoor Track & Filed, Baseball, Girls’ Tennis, Boys’ Tennis, Girls’ Track & Field

2 Oakdale

Boys’ Cross Country, Boys’ Indoor Track & Field, Girls’ Swimming & Diving, Boys’ Swimming & Diving, Boys’ Basketball, Girls’ Lacrosse, Boys’ Track & Field

3 Middletown Golf, Wrestling
4 Linganore Boys’ Lacrosse
5 Tuscarora  
6 Walkersville  
7 Catoctin Girls’ Cross Country, Softball
8 TJ  
9 Frederick Girls’ Basketball
10 Brunswick  

What sports are used for the Principals Cup?
Only MPSSAA sports will be used: Cross country, field hockey, football, golf, soccer, volleyball, basketball, indoor track, swimming and diving, wrestling, baseball, lacrosse, softball, tennis and track and field.

How is the scoring done?
At the end of each sport season, each school/sport will be ranked 1-10 based on their record and, potentially, the outcome of the Central Maryland Conference championship game. Points will be awarded as follows:

Finish 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
Points 12 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1

How are tiebreakers determined?
In the event of a tie in overall points at the end of the spring season, the Frederick News-Post Principals' Cup winner will be determined by the tying school with the most number of CMC championships. If the schools have the same number of CMC championships, the tiebreaker would default to a school with the least amount of point deductions.

Does sportsmanship count?
Yes! For every student-athlete ejected from an athletic contest, schools will be deducted 3 points. For every coach ejected from an athletic contest, schools will be deducted five points. 

What does the winning school receive?
The Frederick-News Post provides a trophy that will be engraved and awarded to the winning school each year. The winning school also receives a promotional banner. This trophy and banner will be passed to the new winning school each year. Each school will receive a plaque.